Department Updates

New Team Members & Promotions: September 2021

September 1, 2021

New Staff and Faculty

J.C. Buswold

Department Administrator

Faculty Promotions

James Dazhe Cao, M.D.

Associate Professor

Jakub Furmaga, M.D.

Associate Professor

Ava Pierce, M.D.


New Faculty: August 2021

August 1, 2021

New Faculty and Fellows: July 2021

July 1, 2021

Incoming Faculty

Incoming Fellows

Matthew Earle, M.D.

Emergency Medical Services

Sarah Hockaday, M.D.

Emergency & Disaster Global Health

Haley Musgrave, M.D.

Clinical Ultrasound

Jeremy Riekena, M.D.

Simulation-Based Medical Education

Daniel Rivera, M.D.

Medical Toxicology

Vietvuong Vo, M.D.

Clinical Ultrasound

Brian Wong, M.D.

Emergency Medical Services

Deborah Diercks, M.D., Announced President of AACEM 2021-2022 Executive Committee

March 24, 2021

2021-2022 Chief Residents Announced

March 4, 2021

Jonathan Brewer, M.D., Deven Bhatia, M.D., Heath Garner, M.D., Danielle Rucker, M.D., and Iqra Zakaria, M.D. were chosen as our Chief Residents for 2021-2022. Congratulations, doctors!

Jonathan Brewer, M.D.

Academic Chief

Deven Bhatia, M.D.

R1 Administrative Chief

Heath Garner, M.D.

Recruitment Chief

Danielle Rucker, M.D.

R3 Administrative Chief

Iqra Zakaria, M.D.

R2 Administrative Chief

Carlos Trigo, M.D., UTDesign Innovate in the ED with Enhanced Portable Ultrasound Machine

February 24, 2021

AJ Kirk, M.D., TCEP Kick Off Hard Hats for Little Heads Collaboration

December 23, 2020

New Faculty and Staff: November 2020

November 1, 2020

Faculty Achieved Fellow Status with ACEP

October 27, 2020

Mary Chang, M.D., Brian Miller, M.D., Brandon Morshedi, M.D., Whitney Potomac, D.O., and Dustin Williams, M.D. recently achieved fellow status with the American College of Emergency Physicians for their commitment, leadership, and excellence in emergency medicine. Well deserved, doctors!

Mary Chang, M.D.

Assistant Professor

Brian Miller, M.D.

Assistant Professor

Brandon Morshedi, M.D.

Assistant Professor

Whitney Potomac, D.O.

Assistant Professor

Dustin Williams, M.D.

Associate Professor

Drs. Gardner, Isaacs Hold Newly Appointed TMA Leadership Positions

September 23, 2020

New Faculty: August 2020

August 1, 2020

Ray Fowler, M.D., on Newly Launched Virtual Rounds Program

July 27, 2020

Dallas EM Faculty Recognition Award Recipients

July 7, 2020

Our most recent class of Residency Program graduates awarded the following faculty during the Class of 2020 Awards Ceremony. Congratulations, doctors!

Nathaniel Bonfanti, M.D.

Assistant Professor

Clements University Hospital Teaching Faculty of the Year

Mark Courtney, M.D.


Best New Hire Award

Joshua Kern, M.D.

Assistant Professor

Faculty of the Year Award

Christine Kulstad, M.D.

Associate Professor

Best Team Player Award

Rohit Manaktala, M.D.

Assistant Professor

Best Bedside Teaching Award

Mark Rendon, M.D.

Assistant Professor

Best Attitude Award