Faculty Spotlight

Dr. Emina Huang Named as Chair in Surgical Research


The Department of Surgery is pleased to announce that Emina Huang, M.D., our executive vice-chair of research, has been named as the Doyle L. Sharp, M.D., Distinguished Chair in Surgical Research at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Deborah Farr Promoted to Section Head of Breast Surgery


The Department of Surgery is pleased to announce that Deborah Farr, M.D., has been promoted to the position of section head for breast and soft tissue surgery within the Division of Surgical Oncology.

Dr. Adam Alder Chosen as Service Chief for Pediatric General and Thoracic Surgery in Plano


The Department of Surgery would like to congratulate Adam Alder, M.D., on being selected as the service chief for general and thoracic surgery at the Plano campus of Children’s Health.

Dr. Corbitt Selected to Be Dedman Scholar


The Department of Surgery is pleased to announce that pediatric surgeon Natasha Corbitt, M.D., Ph.D., has been named a Dedman Family Scholar in Clinical Care at UT Southwestern.

New Division Chief Joins the Department of Surgery


Dr. Levi comes to UT Southwestern from the University of Michigan, where he was the director of the Burn/Wound and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory and associate director of the burn surgery service.

New President of ASE


Professor Daniel Scott, M.D., has been appointed as the 2020-2021 president of the Association for Surgical Education (ASE).

Wooldridge Appointed to Leadership Role


Assistant professor and breast surgical oncologist Rachel Wooldridge, M.D., has been appointed co-medical director of the the UT Southwestern Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center Genetic Counseling Program.

Hennessy Receives SAGES Award


Assistant Professor Sara Hennessy, M.D., has been selected to receive the Barbara Berci Memorial Award from the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons Foundation.

Faculty Inducted as Master Surgeon Educator


Associate Professor Stephen Luk, M.D., has been inducted into the Academy of Master Surgeon Educators. The academy, which is sponsored by the American College of Surgeons, recognizes innovators and thought leaders who are committed to advancing lifelong surgical education.

New Chief of the Division of Colorectal Surgery


Please join the Department of Surgery in welcoming Professor Linda Farkas, M.D., as chief of the Division of Colorectal Surgery.