Dear Colleagues,

We write to share the news that **Michael Rosen, Ph.D.**, holder of the Mar Nell and F. Andrew Bell Distinguished Chair in Biochemistry, has announced his intention to step down from his position as Chair of the Department of Biophysics after a successor is identified. He will remain as Professor in the Department and continue his impactful research.

In 2012, Dr. Rosen was named the inaugural Chair of the Department of Biophysics, which was established to emphasize the importance of biophysics as a distinct discipline. The new Department initially comprised the biophysical faculty from the Department of Biochemistry. Under his leadership, the Department has more than doubled in size and become an important driver of research at our institution, not only by producing original research, but also by supporting three core facilities – the Structural Biology Laboratory, the Cryo-Electron Microscopy Facility, and the Macromolecular Biophysics Resource – that provide specialized services to investigators at UT Southwestern and beyond.

After completing undergraduate studies in chemistry and chemical engineering at the University of Michigan, Dr. Rosen earned his Ph.D. in chemistry from Harvard University. He then pursued postdoctoral training in molecular biology and nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy at the Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute (now the Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute) and the University of Toronto.

He joined UT Southwestern in 2001 from the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, where he was Associate Member of the Cellular Biochemistry and Biophysics Program, and the Weill Medical College of Cornell University, where he was Associate Professor in the Departments of Biochemistry and Structural Biology.

His research seeks to understand the formation, regulation and functions of biomolecular condensates, which are cellular compartments that concentrate diverse but specific groups of molecules without a surrounding membrane. Many condensates form via phase separation and are involved in diverse cellular processes in health and disease.

With support from the National Institutes of Health, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI), and the Allen Institute, among others, Dr. Rosen showed that multivalent interactions between macromolecules are the key drivers of biological phase separation, and that assembly and disassembly of phase-separated structures can be rapidly controlled by covalent modifications, revealing a key mode of condensate regulation. His findings have also explained how phase separation can control biochemical and cell biological activities. Broadly, his lab has illustrated how complex behaviors of condensates can be reduced to biochemically tractable problems and simple rules.

In 2005, Dr. Rosen was named an HHMI Investigator and in 2006 he received the inaugural Edith and Peter O'Donnell Award from the Texas Academy of Medicine, Engineering, Science and Technology (TAMEST). In 2018, Dr. Rosen became UT Southwestern's first Allen Distinguished Investigator. He was also among three scientists awarded the 2020 Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences for determining how cells can compartmentalize processes without the use of membranes. The award honors research that champions novel approaches and challenges accepted thinking. On the basis of his many scientific contributions, Dr. Rosen was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2020.

We are pleased to announce that **Eric Olson, Ph.D.**, Professor and Chair of Molecular Biology, will serve as Chair of the committee that will conduct a national search to identify Dr. Rosen's successor. Other members of the Search Committee are:

- Joseph Goldstein, M.D., Professor and Chair of Molecular Genetics
- Xiaochun Li, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Molecular Genetics
- David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Pharmacology
- Margaret Phillips, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Biochemistry

The search will be launched shortly. We are grateful for Dr. Rosen's service and contributions to our institution and look forward to building on the success made possible under his leadership.

Sincerely,

W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D. Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School

Joan W. Conaway, Ph.D. Vice Provost and Dean of Basic Research