# **UTSouthwestern**

# Medical Center

## 2024 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award winners

Sept. 13, 2024

To the UT Southwestern Community:

In the spirit of our institutional commitment to the highest standards of patient care, we are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2024 UT Southwestern Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards.

Established in 2018, these awards recognize clinical faculty across our many sites of service for their exceptional contributions to the care of our patients, to the education and training of the next generation of health care professionals, and to the advancement of UT Southwestern overall. There are seven award categories, including the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine, UT Southwestern's highest honor in clinical care. This year's award recipients once again serve as an inspiration to us all.

You will be able to read more about each winner identified below in an upcoming feature on Center Times Plus as well as in a future print edition of Center Times. We also hope you will join us at the awards **ceremony on Nov. 14 at 4:30 p.m.** in the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium. More details will be forthcoming.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to recognize these outstanding colleagues as well as the more than 160 nominees reflected across 205 total nominations. A special thanks also goes to members of the Leaders in Clinical Excellence selection committee, led once again by John Mansour, M.D., Professor of Surgery and Vice Chair of Quality in the Department of Surgery, and Maeve Sheehan, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Vice President of the Pediatric Group Practice, for all their efforts in helping us celebrate clinical excellence at UT Southwestern.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President **UT Southwestern Medical Center** 

Jonathan Efron, M.D. Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs **UT Southwestern Medical Center** 

W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D. Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School

#### 2024 Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award Recipients

# Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine This prostigious award LLT Southwestern's top honor for clinical care, recognizes a facult

This prestigious award, UT Southwestern's top honor for clinical care, recognizes a faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care, is a leader in advancing clinical innovations and outcomes, and has had a profound impact on patients, students, trainees, and patients.

Miguel Vazquez, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine (Nephrology)

#### **Rising Star Award**

This award recognizes exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

Elaine Duryea, M.D., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

#### **Institutional Service Award**

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

**Jonathan Dowell, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine (Hematology and Oncology) **Heidi Jacobe, M.D.**, Department of Dermatology; Peter O'Donnell Jr. School of Public Health

### **Mentoring Award**

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers.

**Ildiko Lingvay, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine (Endocrinology); Peter O'Donnell Jr. School of Public Health

Laura Lacritz, Ph.D., Departments of Psychiatry and Neurology

#### **Patient and Family Recognition Award**

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

**Bonnie Prokesch, M.D.**, Department of Internal Medicine (Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine)

David Sher, M.D., M.P.H., Department of Radiation Oncology

#### **Program Development Award**

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have worked together as a team to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve the care received by our patients.

#### **UTSW Pediatric Heart Transplant Program**

Led by **Ryan Davies, M.D.**, Department of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgery, and **Ryan Butts, M.D.**, Department of Pediatrics

## The President's Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

Fiona Strasserking, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine (Cardiology)

###